Greater Prairie-Chicken Booming Tours

Don’t miss this rare opportunity to visit a Greater Prairie-Chicken booming ground at the height of the booming season every spring. You will witness the majestic ballet of the Greater Prairie-Chicken as they dance for dominance. FHDC staff will accompany you on your trip and provide all the insight you need.

Price includes group transportation to the booming ground from the Discovery Center and light breakfast.  Limited to 10 participants per trip. Open to ages 18+. Ages 10-17 may be accompanied by an adult.

IMPORTANT: All guests must be capable and comfortable hiking up to half a mile over uneven prairie terrain in the dark with headlamps (headlamps provided)

FHDC Members: $50  |  Non-Members: $55

Pre-registration is required either online, by phone at 785-587-2726 or in person at the Flint Hills Discovery Center.

Registration opens on Monday, January 3, 2022 at 8:00am

Click below for program dates and important program notes!



Greater_Prairie_
photo courtesy Noppadol Paothong
  1. Program Dates
  2. Important Info

Spring 2022 Dates

Saturday, March 19 
Wednesday, March 23
Saturday, March 26
Wednesday, March 30
Saturday, April 2
Saturday, April 9
Saturday, April 16

Rain Dates below apply for trips cancelled due to weather:

Wednesday, April 6
Saturday, April 23
Saturday, April 30

Custom trips available: Have a group of 10 participants but no date that works? We can work with you to develop a custom trip - subject to staff availability and weather conditions. Call 785-587-2726 or email: FHDCeducation@cityofmhk.com


  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4